New Online Tutoring Site: QED Infinity

Well, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted here. I’ve been involved in a number of writing and education projects, and one of them has now surfaced: My new online tutoring site, QED Infinity.

The main purpose of QED Infinity is to prepare students to make the difficult transition from high-school mathematics to college/university mathematics. Many students need to take a little bit of mathematics, and it’s often scary and difficult. Others need a lot of mathematics. In my teaching career, I’ve been saddened by the number of students who have been unnecessarily stymied by mathematics issues, sometimes having to drop out of their chosen programs, and other times feeling dumb or being stressed out unnecessarily.

At QED Infinity, I intend to help students master as much mathematics as they need to flourish in the college/university program of their choice. There are daily exercises, problems, and thoughts to encourage students to do consistent daily work. There are other resources on the site, and I’ll be adding resources gradually as I produce them. For example, my online textbook will be posted to the site later this year.

Please visit QED Infinity if you’re interested, and please tell others about it.

If you have feedback, or would like to submit a favourite exercise, problem, or thought, please contact me here.

Thanks!

About Santo D'Agostino

I have taught mathematics and physics since the mid 1980s. I have also been a textbook writer/editor since then. Currently I am working independently on a number of writing and education projects while teaching physics at my local university. I love math and physics, and love teaching and writing about them. My blog also discusses education, science, environment, etc. https://qedinsight.wordpress.com Further resources, and online tutoring, can be found at my other site http://www.qedinfinity.com
This entry was posted in QED Infinity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Online Tutoring Site: QED Infinity

  1. hakea says:

    Hi Santo

    Great news!

    Just one problem – the link to your site didn’t work. The error message was “internet explorer cannot display the webpage”.

    • Hi hakea,

      Thanks for your interest!

      Unfortunately, the server at my hosting site was down for 12 hours today. It’s back up and running now, so you can try again if you’re interested in checking out the site.

      Any feedback you have will be gratefully received.

      Thanks again,
      Santo

      • hakea says:

        Hi Santo

        It looks great. My boys have another 7 years of school before they get to uni, but I would definitely be keen to use your service to get them acquainted with uni maths. I think they would enjoy it too.

      • Thanks, hakea!

        I hope that by then there will be many more resources on the site that will be useful to your boys!

        All the best wishes,
        Santo

  2. Mathew M says:

    Hello Professor,

    Wonderful site, I truly wish there were more educators in our society.The process of educating is a tough one it is truly an art.One thing I find rather shallow in our educational system is the emphasis on doing mathematics for some application of some sort, is it possible to do mathematics for the sake of doing it?Sort of like playing the violin for its own sake?.I look forward enthusiastically to the contents of your new site.I was wondering if you have any thoughts on how undergraduate students who are good at mathematics or have already passed the initial hurdles that so many new college students face can enhance their mathematical aptitude and sharpen their thinking?

    • Hi Matthew,

      Sorry for the long delay in replying. I hope all is going well with your studies!

      And thanks for the kind words!

      It is indeed possible to study mathematics for its own sake, and many mathematicians do just this. (Of course, many mathematicians are interested in applied work, both are possible.)

      Your question about how to sharpen your thinking is a very good one. There are a number of good ways:

      1. Work on solving problems. There are a number of really good books on solving mathematics problems; some examples are “A First Step to Mathematical Olympiad Problems,” by Derek Holton, “Solving Mathematical Problems,” by Terence Tao, “The Art and Craft of Problem Solving,” by Paul Zeitz. Ross Honsberger has written many interesting problem books, with full solutions, some of which (I believe) are in the Brock Library.

      2. Carefully work your way through advanced mathematics books that you’re interested in.

      3. Engage in discussions with mathematicians and high-level mathematics students. Perhaps there are some mathematicians at Brock that would be willing to speak to you from time to time, or to help guide your advanced studies. For example, one of them may be interested to hire you as a research assistant; this would give you a mathematical project to work on, and would give you regular contact with a mathematician. You would learn a lot, and would have the opportunity to pick the brain of a mathematical researcher.

      Good luck, Matthew! And once again, my apologies for the late reply!

      All the best,
      SD

Leave a Reply

