A New Political Party: The Mathematics of Ontario Party (MOP)

I have just formed, and declared myself the leader of, a new political party, the MOP. This satisfies a long-held ambition to effect change in the province in which I live, Ontario. (Full disclosure: OK, the truth is I’m just hungry for power.)

Our party will fill a much-needed gap in Canada’s political landscape left by the extinction of the Rhinoceros Party.

The only item on the MOP’s platform is to do everything in our power to improve the grades of our students. (The other item in our platform is to make prayers to the one true deity mandatory at all schools in Ontario.) I suppose that makes us open to accusations of being merely a special-interest group (such as this one, but definitely not like this twisted thing), but I believe that will only make us more viered.

I believe the MOP will sweep the next election, thanks to our positive campaign slogan:

We will not rest until the grades of all of our students exceed the provincial average!

I debated with myself, but in the end this slogan won out over the close competitor, “What a waste it is to leave a child behind … or not to have a behind, how true that is.”

Update: It looks like we’ll have a head-to-head battle on our hands in the next election.

About Santo D'Agostino

I have taught mathematics and physics since the mid 1980s. I have also been a textbook writer/editor since then. Currently I am working independently on a number of writing and education projects while teaching physics at my local university. I love math and physics, and love teaching and writing about them. My blog also discusses education, science, environment, etc. https://qedinsight.wordpress.com Further resources, and online tutoring, can be found at my other site http://www.qedinfinity.com
This entry was posted in Humour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

