Title inflation

I heard an interview this morning on The Current, and the guest (whose name I didn’t catch) spoke about VVIPs. Yikes! I had never heard this usage before, and I fear I am frightfully behind the times. I had better get up to speed before VVVIP becomes common. And how long can it be before we begin hearing “VIP Mark IV,” “Quatro-VIP,” and the like?

But what concerns me most is the feelings of those poor VIPs who are now suddenly second-class; what a savage blow to their fragile self-esteem this must be. And of course there will be infighting among the VVIPs to be upgraded to VVVIP.

This reminds me of the day way back in high school (the early 1970s) when one of our classmates came to school adorned with two small, parallel cuts on his face. The poor fellow was immediately the target of the usual verbal abuse practiced by young male fools: “Hey Roman, are you using a twin-blade razor??”

It’s taken us only a generation to get to the Schick Quattro. How long will it take to get to the PentaBlade?

Update: OK, I’m definitely behind the times: The Gillette Fusion has five blades. FIVE! One must keep up with the arms race in the war on facial hair.

About Santo D'Agostino

I have taught mathematics and physics since the mid 1980s. I have also been a textbook writer/editor since then. Currently I am working independently on a number of writing and education projects while teaching physics at my local university. I love math and physics, and love teaching and writing about them. My blog also discusses education, science, environment, etc. https://qedinsight.wordpress.com Further resources, and online tutoring, can be found at my other site http://www.qedinfinity.com
This entry was posted in Humour, Words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Title inflation

  1. Joe says:

    The Hexablade has arrived!

    The first blade lubricates the whisker; the second straightens it; the third prepares it to be cut; the fourth does the actual cutting; and the fifth and six blades bellow, “timber”!

    • Santo says:

      Good one, Joe!

      I’m surprised that there are no commercial razor blades out there with “Quantum” in their names or advertising; marketers will undoubdtedly turn to this when they get tired of tacking on more blades.

Leave a Reply

